Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

gdaniel
Frequent Visitor

HIde column data in lower hierarchy of Matrix

I've got a matrix with 3 levels of hierarchy:  Employee > Project > Phase.  

gdaniel_3-1633116859769.png

Each Project has a Cost, which which is displayed in the cost column when drilled down to the second (Project) level of the hierarchy.  

gdaniel_1-1633116529188.png

but when I drill down to the third level in the hierarchy (Phase), I don't want the cost data to show because it is not relevant to that row.

gdaniel_2-1633116559823.png

I've tried several options with no luck so far.  I'm rather new at Power BI, so any help is appreciated.  Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
richbenmintz
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @gdaniel,

In your measure you need to identify if the third level is being shown, the following should work

construction cost =
switch(true(),
hasonevalue('table'[phase]), blank(), // returns blank() if phase is displayed with a single value in the matrix
sum(table[constructionCost])// default condition
)

I hope this helps,
Richard

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! Kudos Appreciated!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
richbenmintz
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @gdaniel,

In your measure you need to identify if the third level is being shown, the following should work

construction cost =
switch(true(),
hasonevalue('table'[phase]), blank(), // returns blank() if phase is displayed with a single value in the matrix
sum(table[constructionCost])// default condition
)

I hope this helps,
Richard