Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MichaelK
Regular Visitor

HELP: MOVING AVERAGE EXCLUDING ZERO VALUES

Hi All,

I am working on creating a moving average but it is ignoring Zero values.

Please bare with me as I am new to the software and BI in general.....

Sooooooooooo......I am working with a data set which has multiple fields but the two that I am using are as follows:

1) 'reference number' (text field)

2) DATETIME 

I transformed the date time field to END OF HOUR so I can start to calculate average amounts of instructions hitting our queues per hour.

I then made another column (using the original date time data) and trasnformed that to DATE only (eg: 2016/10/12).

I used the below measure to count the distinct amount of days.

Distinct count days = DISTINCTCOUNT(Query1[DATE ])

Then I created a column and measure to count and then sum the reference numbers (used a column as DAX wouldn't alow me to sum a measure).

Column and measure are as follows.

COLUMN: Count REF NO = CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(Query1))    --I didn't use any where clause/filter for this as every line item has                                                                                                          to have a reference number

MEASURE: sum ref no = SUM(Query1[Count REF NO])

Then for my final step.....

The below measure was created to divide the Sum of my reference numbers by the distinct count of days.

CALCULATE(DIVIDE([sum ref no],[distinct count DAYS]))

The above measure has given me my moving average when it is plotted over my time field.

Everything works fine BUT it is ignoring Zero values and therefore overstating my averages.

For example if there were no instructions received on a day between a certain time, it will remove a day from my Distinct Count of Days.