Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

saqster
Regular Visitor

HELP: Basic questions regarding Analyzing Stock Market Data

Hi Everyone

I'm new, so pls excuse dumb or repetitive questions. I'm also somewhat confused on how to use the tool, even though I've been through hours and hours of youtube videos an dweb pages , so am forced to ask here.

PS my background is in programming from years ago and not from data analysis (plus i hate sql queries 😄 ).

I am trying to analyze and correlate different stock's data.

The stock data comes in csv files. These files have about 3.5 millions rows and approx 8 columns of csv delimited data.

If these files were smaller I would be happy using Excel but my pro plus  Excel 2016 cant handle these large files so  I have to consider Power BI or Access. I would prefer to use PowerBi.

The task I am trying to  accomplish is as follows

1) import the csv files in to Power BI

2) Clean the data

3) link files primary keys to each other (using date time stamps columns)

4) Create new columns that usually compute results using previous rows values

5) Then filter data by certain conditions (from Columns created in step 3 + dates, etc)

6) Generate basic descriptive statistics (average, std deviation, etc) from the filtered data, and do further analysis

I can do all of the above with Excel on smaller files and am comfortable doing it.

With PowerBi , I fail miserably at step 4 - I can't make heads or tails out of DAX expressions and I have tried looking at hours of videos but no joy.

MY first question is-

1) Is PowerBI cut out for this task or should I be using a combination of MS Excel and Access?