Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rewn

Grouped column quandry

Hi,

Note that i'm a TOTAL novice here.

I have a spreadsheet that I use a MDS Connection to populate data in Power BI Desktop.

The data format is as such :

Description | Case Number | Date Received | Date Completed

Now i'm looking at created at a clustered chart that shows:

x Date received     o Date completed

|

|

Number of cases |

|

|

|

|

|__________________________________________________

Jan   Feb   Mar   Apr   May  Jun Jul   Aug Sep

And for each month show the number of cases recieved in that month against number completed (side by side not stacked).

I've looked at GROUPBY but I can't quite get there. I have a few measures (number of cases etc) but i'm not sure what i shoul dbe doing.

I don't think this should be TOO hard to get right, but it may be ?!

Grateful for any lead to me going.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Do you have continuous calendar table (date dimension) in your data model? if not you need to add one, here is the link for reference on how to create one.

Set relationship on date received and date completed with your calendare table, you need to add two measure to for receive and completed count, use date from calendar table on your x axis and these two new measures on value.

let me know if you need further information.

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo