Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

JGABRIEL

Graph revenue by month without grouping years

I am new to PowerBI and trying to create a simple graph to show revenue vs. month including year. My months seem to get groups reguardless of year, so that Jan 2018 and Jan 2019 all fall to on point on the graph. How can I separate? If I add Year to the hierarchy it gives me wonky results.

graph.JPG

If I don't use the hierarchy, individual dates are graphed instead of totals by month.graph2.JPG

Any suggestion?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @JGABRIEL,

when having several columns in a table you have some difficulty to sort especcially the text column as is the current situation.

Add a new colum with the following formula:

SortMonth = Format (Table[Date]; "YYYYMM")

Then configure this column and Number and after that select the Year_Month column and sort it by this new column should work see below the steps:

Order.gif

Regards,

MFelix

Regards

Miguel Félix

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Check out my blog: Power BI em Português

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
MFelix
Super User
Super User

Hi @JGABRIEL,

Create a new column with the following formula:

Year _ Month = Format (Table[Date]; "yy - mmm")

Then use this colum to place on your axis.

Regards,

MFelix

Regards

Miguel Félix

Thanks - that got me really close! Now how do I sort the chart chronologically? Dec 2017 is after Apr 2018, but before Feb 2018?

graph3.JPG

Hi @JGABRIEL,

when having several columns in a table you have some difficulty to sort especcially the text column as is the current situation.

Add a new colum with the following formula:

SortMonth = Format (Table[Date]; "YYYYMM")