Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

mshahid
Regular Visitor

GrandTotal & SubTotal and Changing Bases of Measure

Hi All,

So I am new to this so if my question is very basic please bear with it. 🙂

I have two fact tables; one 'Sales' with product wise number of bills and the other 'Visits' with total number of bills. Both are connected to a territory dimension table; while 'Sales' is linked with a product dimension table. I am trying to calculate product bill to total bills ratio; which is quite simple. I created a measure:

TotalProd:=CALCULATE(SUM(Visit[Productive])) in Visit table

PrdBills:=CALCULATE(SUMSales([VisitCount])) in Sales table.

To find that ratio I simply created the following measure

BrandProductivity:=CALCULATE([PrdBills]/[TotalProd])

This works fine; however, the problem comes when one or two of the products are only sold in certain territories; therefore the [TotalProd] measure needs to exlude the total number of bills for those territories where it is not sold to calculate the ratio. Otherwise, when subtotaling the data on various territory dimensions; the subtotals comes out to be messed up; see below:

Capture.PNG

Here, I have product dimension in columns and one territory dimension in rows. However, the ratio for Prd1 and Prd2 is miss leading as you can see in the highlighted cells. To handle this I first created two support tables listing the territories where only Prd1 and Prd2 is sold and added them to the PowerPivot. Then I linked them with the territory dimension table and added 2 custom columns to identify which territory only sold Prd1 or Prd2.

Column1 [Prd1Only]=LEN(RELATED(Prd1Only[Prd1Only]))>0

Column2 [Prd2Only]=LEN(RELATED(Prd2Only[Prd2Only]))>0