Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Pastrupgaard
Helper I
Helper I

Grand total wrong when using =IF formula

Hey guys. I’m new to Power BI and I’ve encountered a problem I can’t seem to fix. I’m not at liberty to post the actual numbers or a picture of the connections (everything should be connected though). I’ve got two different databases, which I’m pulling numbers from (see picture).

problem.png

I got the following variables:

Tables:
Actual = revenue secured
Forecast = forecast

Measure:
Estimate  = actual for the secured months and then forecast for the following months.

Formula for Estimate:
Estimate ($) = (if(sum(f_sales_forecast[Forecast])=0;sum(f_sales[Actual]);sum(f_sales_forecast[Forecast])))

The grand total only counts the forecasted period (49), and ignores the rest of the numbers that comes from Actual (100). What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for your help in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
GregoryMartin
Frequent Visitor

Hi @Pastrupgaard

It seems you forgot a part in your formula. You wrote this one:

Estimate ($) = (if(sum(f_sales_forecast[Forecast])=0;sum(f_sales[Actual]);sum(f_sales_forecast[Forecast])))

But if you want the sum of Actual + Forcast, you should write something like:

Estimate ($) = (if(sum(f_sales_forecast[Forecast])=0;sum(f_sales[Actual]);sum(f_sales_forecast[Forecast])+sum(f_sales[Actual])))

and it will give you your Grand Total

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
BeemsC
Resolver III
Resolver III

Hello,

I recreated this using a simpler table, and i think you are not supposed to use sum on every step.
I got it working using the following formula:

Estimate = IF(Table2[Forecast] = 0;Table2[Actual];Table2[Forecast])

Make sure you change the table names.
If it doesn't work for you, or if you have any questions please ask.

Good luck