Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Hoveyg
Regular Visitor

Getting previous semester enrolment using DAX measures

Hi Everyone,

I work in the education sector and am looking to setup a PowerBI dashboard that returns the # of students based on enrolment for the previous term of the previous year. ie.  Report ‘Fall 2016 (Term# 1168)’ enrolment alongside ‘Fall 2015(Term# 1158)’ enrolment where I can then look to eventually calculate growth. 

The school terms in an academic year don’t adhere to the traditional fiscal and quarter system so I’m uncertain how to create custom periods. I was able to pull the previous Term#’s enrolment via the following measure but it unfortunately lists the total population from the previous term of the academic year and does not reflect any of the page level pivots/filters/views of the data.

(PowerBI Page Filter on 1168)

PY_StudentCount = CALCULATE([Distinct Students], FILTER(All(CNA_Enrolment), CNA_Enrolment[Term#] = 1158))

**1158 value for Fall 2015 was hardcoded into formula for testing/development.

I receive an output similar to this where the previous year was always the same value no matter how the data was sliced or filtered on the page.

School

Current Enrolment

Previous Year Enrolment

Growth

School of IT

School of Business

School of Industrial Trades

I'd like the previous year enrolment for Fall to pull for each academic school. 

Perhaps it’s not possible to have dynamic calculations based on previous year…. I’ve been reading all about DAX and have a book on order but I’m still struggling to figure out how to get last year's semester enrolment numbers returned in a measure that can be filtered and sliced based on what else was selected in the page.

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Regards,

Greg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Framet