Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

KMKing
Regular Visitor

Getting computer OU information

I am pretty new to Power BI, but its pretty awesome! I have a work in progress dashboard that has simple active directory information. I am trying to get the computer OU information so I can display that, and filter based on OU.

The distinguishedName has that info, but I do not know for the life of me how to make it "readable" and not contain all the CN=,OU=,OU=,DC=,DC=,DC= stuff. I am sure it is something right under my nose and I am going to feel silly once someone points it out.

Example:

CN=Server123,OU=Prod,OU=Servers,DC=help,DC=me,DC=out

To something like:

Prod/Servers

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Was able to resolve this on my own. 

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

The information you have provided is not making the problem clear to me. Can you please explain with an example.

Appreciate your Kudos.

Sorry, I posted in haste.

I am using the Active Directory connector in Power BI to get information on servers in our domain. I would like to display the servers OU information also on this report. I can then create a filter to show a count of servers in certain OUs. I just need the OU information to be in a better format than what is in the distinguishedName colum.

If I add that to the report as it sits, it has all the LDAP information included.

Example: CN=Server123,OU=Prod,OU=Servers,DC=help,DC=me,DC=out

Format desired: Prod/Servers

Hope that makes more sense. 

Was able to resolve this on my own. 

az38
Community Champion
Community Champion

@KMKing 

please, share your solution 🙂

do not hesitate to give a kudo to useful posts and mark solutions as solution
LinkedIn
KMKing
Regular Visitor