Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

gerrymouse1
Frequent Visitor

Getting Wrong Totals With Measure

Folks,

I am totally new to Power BI and I am struggling with my first dashboard

I have 5 columns that have multiple Text Inputs.  I am attempting to count these inputs and display them on chart.  I created a measure that enters a 1 if the correct text is present in the column.  See below

UAPPEHands_GetNum_1 = IF(CONTAINS(SMATAuditData,SMATAuditData[UnsafeAct1CategoryValue], "PPE - Hands"), 1, 0)

This works perfectly.  However when I attempt to display this on a Chart with a year filter I only ever get 1.  I have checked through all the posts and it is clear it is to do with Filters being applied on the Rows versus the total.  I attempted to create another Measure to remove to resovle this problem but it is not functioning.

UAPPEHands_Filt_1 = Var _table = SUMMARIZE(SMATAuditData,SMATAuditData[UnsafeAct1CategoryValue],"__VAR", [UAPPEHands_GetNum_1])
RETURN
IF(HASONEVALUE(SMATAuditData[UnsafeAct1CategoryValue]), [UAPPEHands_GetNum_1], SUMX(_table, [__VAR]))

I end up with the data in the table the same without the 0'S

Untitled.png

Any help really appreciated and ap;o

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
gerrymouse1
Frequent Visitor

Folks,

Thank you for the input.

I simply went back to the Query, added some Conditional Columns on the Text to get Numeric values.

I then created a measure in PowerBI to add the numbers nad got the correct result when entered into my reports

Thanks for the input and it is a pity I could not resolve with measures only

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
gerrymouse1
Frequent Visitor

Folks,

Thank you for the input.

I simply went back to the Query, added some Conditional Columns on the Text to get Numeric values.