Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

luciefialova
Frequent Visitor

Getpivotdata equivalent

Hi,

Is there a Power BI equivalent to the getpivotdata function in Excel? Some teams within my organisation have quite messy reporting requirements (asking me to count apples and oranges) and in the past I would have done something like getpivotdata(A) + getpivotdata(B) to get the figure they need.

Apologies if there's a really obvious way of doing this that I've missed, I'm still fairly new to Power BI.

Thanks

Lucie

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @luciefialova,

I would suggest you start to learn DAX language which could calculate all the expected result for you in Power BI without return back to SQL. And it's better to read a book from beginning. Smiley Happy

In addition, the formula(DAX) below to calculate the sum of the two totals mentioned above is for your reference.

Measure =
SUMX (
    SUMMARIZE (
        'Attributes',
        'Attributes'[ATTRUBUTE_TYPE],
        "count of people", COUNTROWS ( Attributes )
    ),
    [count of people]
)
    + SUMX (
        SUMMARIZE (
            'transactionCF',
            'transactionCF'[CAMPAIGNCODE],
            "count of people", COUNTROWS ( transactionCF )
        ),
        [count of people]
    )

Regards

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-ljerr-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @luciefialova,

After a few research on the getpivotdata function in Excel, I don't think there is an exact equivalent function in Power BI. However, I believe it could be implemented with other DAX functions(i.e. SUMMARIZE function). So could you post your table structures with some sample data and your expected result, so that we can further assist on this issue? Smiley Happy

Regards

Hi,