Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

BobN
Frequent Visitor

GetData from Web API limiting to 10 rows

I am relatively new to Power BI and am certain that this is just a beginner issue but I cannot solve this.

I connected to the Rest API by using WEB connector.

The data pulls down and reports that there are 25 rows.

It is JSON data

I clikc on the List in the first row

The next screen resolves to 10 rows of record with a header that says list. 

Is it only showing 10 rows because this is a preview of the data? Or is this where I have an issue?

I right click on the top row and convert to table. 

Again, 10 rows with a header that says Column1 and a split icon

I expand the Column 1 and get my nice table....but it is only 10 rows.

I select Close and Apply and my report now has the data loaded but only 10 rows.

Note: I can send different parameters to the API and get different data but I am always only getting back a max of 10 rows. When I use Postman my GET returns 25 rows just as reported by the query in Power BI....

Any ideas are appreeciated.

14 REPLIES 14
mtlforlife

Echo this same issue. I'm using the Web connector against a web page that includes 2 HTML tables with more than 10 records each, but Power Query trims the dataset to 10 records. I can read the source code and see the HTML code. I tried modifying the Power Query M Web.Contents() and/or Web.BrowserContents() before being passed to Web.Page(), verifying the same code, reducing the code to just the </table> tags thinking client side script may have been trimming the records, but to no avail.

Any help/insight would be appreciated, please let me know if you need more details. My source is an intranet page, so I can't directly offer it for trouble shooting.