Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

GraceN
Frequent Visitor

Get value from one month ago

Hi! I am new to Power BI, and I want to create a measure that returns a value corresponding to the previous month. I don't want to use a slicer. I think I want to use the CALCULATE function, but I don't know how to set it up.

Here is an Excel table with dummy data. It is now December and I want the values from November. In this example, I want measures to return Previous_Month_Actual = 52 and Previous_Month_Target = 55 

Thanks for your help

MonthActualTarget
01/31/1755
02/28/171210
03/31/171815
04/30/172120
05/31/172525
06/30/172730
07/31/173035
08/31/173940
09/30/174445
10/31/175350
11/30/175255
12/31/17 60
01/31/18 65
02/28/18 70
03/31/18 75
04/30/18 80
05/31/18 85
06/30/18 90

14 REPLIES 14
GraceN
Frequent Visitor

Hi Wolf:

Thanks for the suggestion but inexplicably it's a partial solution. I was able to get the correct calculation for this specific example (although I need to change the semicolons in your formula to commas). On the other hand, I don't get the correct values with any other data set even when I used the same Excel table format for the source. That is,  I get unexpected values for  ActualLastMonth and TargetLastMonth, which are inconsistent, even though the values for ActualMeasure and TargetMeasure are correct. Here are 2 screenshots 1) the first dummy data set which worked, and 2) another dummy data set with the wrong values in the cards. I'm including the new measure in both

Dataset 1: this workedDataset 1: this workedDataset 2: this didn't workDataset 2: this didn't work

WolfBiber
Employee
Employee

Hi,

try following formula:

YourMeasure = CALCULATE(SUM(TheTable[Actual]); PREVIOUSMONTH(TheTable[Month]))

Greetings,

Wolf