Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mrichardsPGS

Get data - SharePoint online list - From a Subsite

Hi all,

I am a newbie here so apologies if I am missing something obvious.

I would like to connect to a list on our company SharePoint site that is actually contained within a subsite.

I have no problem accessing lists within the main site, but I constantly get the following error when trying to connect to a subsite. See images below.

Are there any known issues in connecting to subsites in SharePoint?

I think from my limited reserach that it is not even possible to connect to a SharePoint list in PowerBI online?

Thanks in advance for your help, Marc.

Subsite address:

PBI2.PNG

Error message trying to connect to subsite:

PBI1.PNG

main site address:

PBI3.PNG

no issue connecting to main site adress:

PBI4.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-easonf-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @mrichardsPGS 

I can't reproduce your problem .  It works well in my PowerBi.

x2.png

11.png

It's important  to  configure  that your  account have access to the SharePoint subsite  not just home page first.

(Configure by taking a try to access the  resources of sharepoint subsite  directly in website )

(If not ,share the website or edit site permissions in " sharepoint site setting" )

12.png

And then you can take a try to clear your permissions and re-sign in your  account as belows.

8.png

a1.png

Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Eason
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-easonf-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @mrichardsPGS 

I can't reproduce your problem .  It works well in my PowerBi.

x2.png

11.png