Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

lssmail
Regular Visitor

Get Data - filter by Table Name

Hi Experts,

I'm new to powerBi, well, my scenario, 

I'm running a SQL Server DB with many tables, I know I can filter the tables under "Navigator" after I get the DB connected, however, it is very lagging in searching and dragging up and down (due to huge number of tables?).

How may I filter out unnessary tables/only take the desired tables during connecting to the DB? 

I wrote the below statements under the "Advanced options -> SQL Statement (optional)"

First Try:

SELECT * FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.TABLES
where table_name like 'ABC%'
order by table_name

Second Try:

SELECT 
FROM sys.tables AS t
INNER JOIN sys.schemas AS s
ON t.[schema_id] = s.[schema_id]
WHERE t.name like 'ABC%'
order by name

It filtered but the subsequent output is not that "Navigator", it is Not a list of filtered tables displaying in "Navigator", 

how/what may I actually have in "SQL Statement (optional)" or any other way? 

TQ

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Eric_Zhang wrote:

@lssmail

As far as I know, you can't filter the tables during connecting to SQL Server. However you can narrow down the navigation by filling the database(optional) field and then filter tables in the navigation by its searching tool. When the SQL Statement(Optional) fileds is filled, it would go to the form displaying the SQL Statement querying result rather than the navigation.

The Table Navigator in above is a very user friendly Form and it is the one I normally use, besides that, it's "clean" to filter out the necessary ones from beginning if I already knew it upfront what are absolutely undesire for my certain reports, and so on.