Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Gantt visualisation displaying multiple dependencies

Hi

I'm trying to create a Gantt Chart visualisation that displays multiple dependencies (arrows) between tasks. I'm able to display 2 dependencies using the xViz Gantt Chart, however often my tasks have 3 or more dependencies.

Is anyone aware of a Gantt Chart visualisation capable of displaying 3 or more dependencies please?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Good news - xViz does have a solution for >2 dependencies. It's possible to just use the primary connector and configure the dependencies in a single column in PowerBI with the correct syntax and delimiter. See their post here

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
PowerBIpupil99

Hi,

I am new to xViz Gantt Chart and have tried to use the sample data provided by xviz.com to create the visualisation. However, when I opened Power BI Desktop and plotted the gantt chart, I was not able to display the dependencies/relationship using "Primary ConnectTo" and "Primary ConnectorType". Could anyone here help me out? Thank you!!

PowerBIpupil99_0-1666683592630.png

Obtained sample data from here - How to configure and launch Gantt Chart in Power BI - A Quick Guide (xviz.com)

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @PowerBIpupil99 

The sample data doesn't look quite right - it seems to be trying to create connections based on the Resource name, but the data is task-based. Try making the following changes to the "Primary ConnectTo" data in Column G of the sample data and it should give you an understanding of how it all works.

Cell ReferenceCurrently Says…Try Changing to….
G2Kimberley["UI/UX"]
G4Randy["Project Plan"]
G8Randy["Busines Case Preparation","Review"]
G10Jack["Systems Architecture","Project Plan"]