Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Gantt Chart with different stages

Hi All, I am very new to Power BI and as a part of my project I have been asked to build a Gantt chart. But I have a specific requirement for the same. Apart from the basic start and end dates I have certain other project stages in the data which i do want to have in the Gantt chart. I tried using some custom charts and most of them just provide me an option to enter just the start and end dates. Have also tried using Gantt chart by Lingaro which allows me to put the various dates and also shades it, however it has some limitations with respect to dates and tooltips. 

I am not able to figure out a way out of this. How can I achieve this task by using a custom visual or even by playing around my data and using stacked bar chart or a matrix may be. Can someone please help me in this.

I can provide the data format or my exact requirement of needed.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Please see this link for the example pbix file on how to do this.  Here is an image of the result.  Of course, you can adapt the colors, and hide the text if you want (by using same color measure on Text color in conditional formatting as I used for background).

gantt.png

In the pbix, you will see a simple DAX Date table to get the Week Dates for the columns.  Note there is no relationship between the two tables.  There are also 3 measures - 1 to check if the project is active during that week, 2 to detect which phase/stage it's in, and 3 return a color based on phase/stage.  You can get more granular with color codes (I just used "Green", "Blue", etc. to demonstrate).  You can also build in some logic based on the Site value to get different color families.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1UcKquV6A4oTRmonMDx7PKXtUGtmQwzQZ/view?usp=sharing