Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

AlKS
Regular Visitor

Full date into month/year

Hi,  Im having difficulties trying to plot the date in month groups.  I have a date column as dd/mm/yyyy.  I want to show mm/yy on visuals but am having issues making this happen.    If I select the hierarchy as year and month it just shows the year.   If I choose month only it groups the months from different years which is not want I want.  I am relatively new to Power BI so do aplogise if this seems a simple thing.  I am assuming I need to possibly create a new column that extracts just the month and year, and then just show this on a visual as a date. 

Any help greatly appreciated.

Al

5 REPLIES 5
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @AlKS,

Assume the sample data below:

w1.PNG

You can use a column chart visual, then drag date column to Axis, it will generate date hierarchy automatically. You can delete the Quarter and Day, keep Year and Month. Put Amount in Values. Then expand all the level via this power-bi-drill-icon6.png

w2.PNGw3.PNG

If the above result doesn't meet your requirement, please clarify it.

Reference:

Drill down in a visualization in Power BI

Best Regards,
Qiuyun Yu

Community Support Team _ Qiuyun Yu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
juliovidigal
Advocate I
Advocate I

Do you have a calendar table?
The ideal is to always have a calendar table, with varying columns, with various types of views, and then relate your transaction table to this calendar table.

No I dont.   Im guessing if I have this I can link the date in the main data to the required date format column in the date table?  I can then choose this data to plot the visual under mm/yy