Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Formula not working as expected when using not equal combined with OR (||) operator

Hi,

I'm fairly new to power bi. I've been using this tool for about 5 months. I am trying to create a measure to calculate the total amount based on specific values. The values range from 1-20. I would like the measure to sum the total of a column for values 5-20. I think the best way to write this formula is to use "not equal" (<>) to filter out value 1-4 and my formula is found below. However, the measure is not working as expected and is summing the total based on values 1-20 I tried to filter out 1-4 using the not equal (<>). Please note that the column with the values 1-20 is in text and I've used the values formula to covert that column into numbers.

Can someone please take a look at my formula below and advise why it might not be working?

Total = CALCULATE(SUM('Mock 1042 Data'[Box 2 Amount]),FILTER('Mock 1042 Data', VALUE('Mock 1042 Data'[Unique Form ID]) <> 01 || VALUE('Mock 1042 Data'[Unique Form ID]) <> 02 || VALUE('Mock 1042 Data'[Unique Form ID]) <> 03 || VALUE('Mock 1042 Data'[Unique Form ID]) <> 04))

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi all,

I was able to solve this issue by replacing the OR operator (<>) with the AND operator (&&). This seem to work and I'm getting the correct results from the measures. Thanks for all your help. 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi all,

I was able to solve this issue by replacing the OR operator (<>) with the AND operator (&&). This seem to work and I'm getting the correct results from the measures. Thanks for all your help. 

amitchandak
Super User
Super User

Remove "VALUE" and check

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,