Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Formula Alternative

I have 3 different formulas that are all built with this same logic:

1.PNG

So this formula does 3 different things:

1. Checks for the [Tier] a person is assigned to (based on their revenue)

2. Checks for their [NPS Level] (based on another formula)

3. Returns a dollar amount based on their [Tier] and [NPS Level]

While this works and gives me what I need, this formula makes my entire PBIX file run sluggish. The file takes a while to open, formatting things takes a while, connecting tables together can cause the PBIX file to freeze, etc. But as far as the formula itself goes, I've never built anything like this before so once I finally had a working solution I stuck with it. It's annoying because things that should take me 5 minutes to do now takes twice as long or even longer depending on what is because everything I click on needs time to load (if it doesn't freeze). I've deleted this formula a few times and rebuilt it to see if that's what was causing the issue and can confirm this is most likely the issue. Is there a different approach I can take to building something like this that won't slow down my dashboard?

5 REPLIES 5
Stachu
Community Champion
Community Champion

the format you showed is a bit difficult to work with, I was thinking about something like this (Power Query code)

Bonus

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WMlDSUfILCFZwKsrPq0oFcoxNlWJ1EOLBnjllqUVAjrkBirh7fk4KkGloABE2xGGMIQ5jDNGMMYYIG6EbY44qDjcGXQPUHCOoc4zRzTFEk4AbhK4DapAxSDgWAA==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Tier = _t, #"NPS Level" = _t, Bonus = _t]),