Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

NamishB
Post Prodigy
Post Prodigy

Folder as parameter

Hi,

I have a requirement where i want to read data from a folder location.

This folder has 10 excel files and i want to show these 10 as a filter parameter for a user to choose and my visuals should be filtered based on the data from that excel sheet.

I am able to pick up latest file by default (Keep Top rows 1) but is there a way to give user to filter which file they want to analyse from that folder.

FYI: all files are of same extension, just weekly some data is added/removed from the file.

Thanks in advance.

Namish

7 REPLIES 7
nsr299
Regular Visitor

Newbie here...

Is it possible to create a parameter that can swith between a folder and Sharepoint folder as a source?

Thanks!

Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@NamishB - So, are you using a Folder query or are you grabbing them all individually? When you use a Folder query, there is a step where the name of the file is included. I think it gets selected out but you could modify the queries to keep it. Not sure if this is what you are going for or something else. It's not super clear.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

Thanks @Greg_Deckler., sorry if i am not clear

I am trying to read data from a folder as Data source. Assume folder contains 10 files If i read the latest modified file (Top 1 row) this works perfect.

My question was if i need to show the user a list of file names in this folder (10 names), so they can choose which file they want to analyse?

NamishB_0-1599434298370.png