Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

gban
Frequent Visitor

Flatten audit table

Hi, I'm a newbie in Power BI (3rd day) and wondering how you guys solve following situation. I have something in database that you could call audit table:

idoriginal_idstatus_1 flag_1flag_2update_date
10ConfirmedTrueTrue2020-12-02
21PendingTrueFalse2020-12-01

Current entity state is with original_id = 0, when original_id is not 0, that means historical state, in original table there's way more statuses and flags.

I'm using "import" approach for dataset and have 40k new rows a day, 1.5milion in total.

I need to show dynamics based on date how by counting statuses and flags, like in past month each day we had so much items in pending state.

I think I could achieve that by adjusting query to database, but probably that would use CTE and would not perform very well (I can't change underlyging database structure).

Or may be I could somehow transform data  in Power BI query, to have query output as something like this:

idstatus_1_confirmed_dateflag_1_true_dateflag_2_true_date
12020-12-022020-12-012020-12-02

I think this pattern should be quite common, I'm not sure if flattening is correct word for that, so if there's a name for this pattern, I would happy to read more, if there are several alternatives to approach it, I would be happy to know that too with cons and pros.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-alq-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @gban 

Based on your description, I created data to reproduce your scenario. The pbix file is attached in the end.

Table:

b1.png

You may paste the following m codes in 'Advanced Editor' to apply transformations to the query.

let