Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

gigchocolaty

Fiscal Year Calculation

I just started playing Power Bi around for a week and I've been struggled with calculating fiscal year and quarter. Hopefully you guys could share your techniques.

I have two tables (one for FY 14 and another for FY15). The fiscal year begins July 1 and ends June 30. My first column is year and the second column is month (starting July 2013 to June 2014 for FY14). I don't have date in my dataset because I only focus on monthly data collection. I am hoping to be able to filter graph by quarter and fiscal year. 

In addition to that issue, I have questions regarding data modeling.

1) Would I be able to filter data by fiscal year if I have two separate dataset?

2) Would it be better to create a new table for fiscal year and link to another dataset? I still don't know how to create the relationship. 

Thanks you for all your help!

Tana

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @gigchocolaty,

From your description, there are two tables (FY14 and FY15), and you want to calculate fiscal year and quarter, then filter based on the fiscal year and quarter, right?

In your scenario, I would suggest you append the table FY14 with table FY15 in query Editor use Append Queries as New feature. Then create two calculated columns like below:

Fiscal Year = 
  CONCATENATE("FY",
                IF('Append1'[Month] <=6,
                       RIGHT('Append1'[Year],2),
                       VALUE(RIGHT('Append1'[Year],2)) +1
                     )
                                )

FiscalQuarterNumber = IF('Append1'[Month]<4,3,IF('Append1'[Month]<7,4,IF('Append1'[Month]<10,1,2)))