Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

sclennell

Finding top 3 averages across range of journeys with specific end locations

OK, slightly complex query and I'm a complete PowerBI newbie, so not great with this!

I have source data as follows:

Start Location    End Location    Time

A                        H                      00:01

B                        J                       02:00

C                        I                       03:03

D                        Z                      01:01

B                       I                        02:00

The start and end locations are specifc unique locations (different lists from each other - we have a scenario where devices travel from a pool of locations to a different pool of locations).

I have approx 100,000 rows of this data, all based on captured data.

I am trying to get a table that would give me the following:

End Location (unique list)                  Quickest average start location  (Time)                2nd quickest average start location  (Time)          3rd...

I also need to exclude the quickest, 2nd quickest and 3rd quickest if they only had 2 entries or less as outliers.

I cant work out where to start! Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-ljerr-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @sclennell,

If I understand you correctly, you should be able to follow steps below to get your expected result.

I assume your called is "Table1".

1. Use the formula below to create a new table with each End Location and distinct Time values.

New Table = 
SUMMARIZE (
    Table1,
    Table1[Start Location],
    Table1[End Location],
    "Averate Time", AVERAGE ( Table1[Time] )
)

2. Use the formula below to add a calculate column to the new created table to Rank Time values for each End Location.

Rank =