Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Ayush_Mittal
Frequent Visitor

Find most reccuring value(Text or string) in a column?

I'm new to the software and am wondering how to find the most reccuring item in a column. Let's say that I have a Work schedule table with task_id, work_id, task and task_type as fields. Now task_type can take one four values(can be more in future, not set yet) and I need to find the most common type of task_type from the table to find the popularity. How should i go about it.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi,

I missed one step. You have to create relationship between new Table T1 and original table by going into Relationship tab.

Then it will work.

View solution in original post

OK,

Played around with one of my datasets and I believe the following would work:

First Create a Summary Table based on the following pattern:

Table1Summary =
ADDCOLUMNS (
    SUMMARIZE ( 'table1', 'table1'[task_type] ),
    "Count", CALCULATE ( COUNTA ( 'table1'[task_type] ) )
)

Then Create a Custom Column on that table in order to flag the max value:

IsMax =
SWITCH ( TRUE (), Table1Summary[Count] = MAX ( Table1Summary[Count] ), 1, 0 )

This will create a flag with a value of 1 in a new column.

You can then use a viz like the multi-row card to add the string and the count of hits against that string. Use the IsMax flag to filter the viz to only display values where is max = "1"

You may be able to combine that into one Dax statement but my dax is not that good yet.

I hope this helps.

Edit - Made a couple adjustments to the dax

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
ankitpatira
Community Champion
Community Champion