Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dralexandero
Frequent Visitor

Filters won't work for visuals from calculated tables

Hello, I'm new to PowerBI and I'm trying to create a report for an insurance Policy Life Expectancy calculation.

The dataset is something like below:

001.png

The logic to calculate the result I want is based on summarized tables from the original dataset:
Summarized active days for each month under every persistency bucket:

002.png

And summarized policy count for each month under every bucket:

003.png

Next, I divide the active days by active policies to arrive at active days per policy; I then multiply these values by the triangle of lifetime retention rates (the remaining row % from summarized policy table); finally, I sum up the numbers on the diagonal to arrive at a total capped Policy Life Expectancy for each month.

004.png005.png007.png

The final result will be a simple table shows the Policy Life Expectancy per month. I was able to do this by creating a measure from the summarized tables. However, the slicers based the original dataset won't work for the visuals becaused the calculated table won't be affected by the slicers. (such as multicar or not, rewrite or not).

Alternatively, I tried to write R script to solve this problem, but it seems there's a limitation of 150k rows.

I'm wondering if there is any approach to generate visuals from a temporary table that can be affected by filters from original dataset, or I can directly create a measure to sum a measure grouped by bucket based on the original dataset? Any help would be appreciated!

Regards,
Ray

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION