Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Filtering table with missing data

I'm new to Power BI and I'm creating a dashboard with a few different sources. Most of the sources can be linked by a customer ID, but one cannot (it's just a summarized table of site visits). The dashboard includes several (about 😎 customer filters that I'd like to apply to the entire page, for instance Product, State, Brand, etc. For the tables that include customer ID, I have all the info I need to be able to filter, and the tables can be joined by customer ID. However, I only have the breakdown for a couple of these filters in the summary table. Additionally, all tables are linked by the field "Start Of Week". I created a number of index tables for these filters.

The problem is that it won't be clear to the user what data is linked, so I'm trying to get the summary visualizations not to show any data when the user filters on a field that doesn't exist in the data source. As in, when you filter for "state" most visualizations will filter correctly, but the whole summary visualizaiton appears blank, because we don't have that breakdown available for that source. 

Does anyone know an easy way to do this? I have tried adding columns for the missing filters, just putting the valuable as "N/A", but I've been getting the error: "You can't create a direct active relationship between [my summarized table] and [my index table] because that would introduce ambiguity between [index table] and [my primary table with full customer data]."

Thank you for any help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous,