Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Bluefire
Regular Visitor

Filtering in a historized table

Hello guys,

I am sorry to bother you with this question, but as i am fairly new to Power BI i dont really have a clue on how to proceed. The situation is as follows: i have a historized table where multiple valid from and valid to collumns exists. What i want to achive is that i can filter for a date and only the values are shown which where valid. So in general i need to filter between two date collumns if the date is on or after vaild from and on or before valid to. 

This example may not be the most complex one but i think it will do to get my point across. If i now select the 26.05.2017 as da filter it should only show the colored line. So i would need to check each pair of valid from and valid to column if the choosen date is between Valid from and valid two and then show only the correct line.

Bluefire_0-1594626205743.png

Can someone help me?

Kind Regards,

Marc

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-xuding-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Bluefire,

You could drag the column "Valid From4" into slicer to filter your date.  Or you can create a date table and use a measure to achieve your purpose.

The details are as follows:

Firstly, you can create a Calendar table which contains all continued date :

1. Click New table in Modeling Tab

v-xuding-msft_1-1594720019262.png

1. Create a date table as below:
Date = CALENDAR(MIN('Table'[Valid From4]),MAX('Table'[Valid To5]))

1. Use a Slicer, you may choose list, because it is convenient to select a specific values

5.png

1. Find New Measure on Home Tab:

3.png

Create a Measure like below:

Measure =
var selectedvalue = SELECTEDVALUE( 'Date'[Date])