Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Filtering from MySQL database

Hi all,

I'm really new to PowerBI, but I'm creating a dashboard for the real estate company where I work to check our current apartment occupancy. All of our bookings go through our website, so all of our apartments have a 'status' column in the database. This column either says 0 (available), 1 (in option) or 2 (rented out). 

I'm trying to use the gauge visualization to check how many apartments have 'status' = 2 as the value (using COUNT in the visualization fields), with the maximum value being the COUNT of rows in the database. However, because I'm filtering the apartments with 'status' = 2, Power BI only counts the rows where 'status' = 2 for the maximum value. This results in being the value and the maximum value to be equal to eachother. 

Does anyone know how I can fix this? I've tried searching on the forums already, without any luck unfortunately...

4 REPLIES 4
v-eachen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

You could use two measures to show the result.

CurrentCount =
CALCULATE (
    COUNT ( 'Table'[apartmentno] ),
    FILTER ( 'Table', 'Table'[status] = 2 )
)
AllCount = 
COUNT('Table'[apartmentno])

When the database data is updated, you could click update button to refresh data. The measure will return the latest result.

Community Support Team _ Eads
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @v-eachen-msft, thanks for the help.

May I ask how I create two seperate measures? See the screenshot below on how I have my data filtered right now:

49fb94e960aa2474520fbfc01b4bb7e3.png