Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

shera276
Advocate I
Advocate I

Filtering a table by selecting a row in another table

Hi - I'm new to PowerBI and hoping someone can point me in the right direction.  I'm trying to filter (or highlight) a table based by selecting a row from a different table.  In my example below, when I select Company A in the Customer table I want all Company A records filtered/highlighted in the Forms table and vice versa.  The tables are joined by Customer ID in the model (there can be multiple Form records to only 1 Customer record).

PBI Forum Question - Filtering btwn tables.png

I'm not sure what I need to configure to do that but right now selecting Company doesn't do anything.  I know recent May, June, July releases say they allow this but I still can't figure it out.  Any one have ideas on what I"m doing wrong?

As an alternative, I tried adding a regular slicer on customer id thinking that would at least filter both tables.  Unfortunately, it didn't.  I must add the customer id slicer from both tables for both tables to be filtered.  I viewed the interactions and all seems well too. Thoughts?

Will someone help me solve both questions?

Thank You,

SS

4 REPLIES 4
BraneyBI
Kudo Commander
Kudo Commander

Important question:  Do you have a relationship between your two tables on the CustomerID field?  You can tell by selecting the 'Manage Relationship' icon on the Home ribbon.  Your customerIDs need to be unique on the customer table. 

With the new Table and Matrix visuals, cross highlighting is now enabled by default.

ziad
Frequent Visitor