Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

craigsmajors
Regular Visitor

Filtering a linked table by what is selected in the report

Hello,

I am fairly new to using Power BI.

I am currently working on some employee production reports in Power BI.

I have a table that contains the Employee, Activity, Production, etc.

I have another table that has a list of all of the different activities and the target number for those activities.

I have their relationship linked on activity.

In my report. I want to have a bullet chart that is filtered by department and using the target number in the table that I talked about above.

The problem is that the target number seems to be summing (or averaging, min, max, etc) all of the target numbers in the table so the target number stays the same irregardless of the activity that is selected.

What would be the best way to get these target numbers to filter correctly?

Any help would be greatly appriciated.

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I figured out my problem. It had to do with how I was filtering the data. I needed to use the "Activity" from the target data instead of the one from the actual data to filter the data on. Once I made that change it worked.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Any way that you can post sample data or, better yet, the PBIX you are using?

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

I created a mock up PBIX with the same problem but could not figure out how to upload it.