Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Yakov
Helper I
Helper I

Filtering Data - for report

I am new to Power BI so patience please.

I would like to create a report from a SQL Server Table.

The table has data from recent years but i would like to display only last years info (utilizing a date column).

would i filter the dataset on creation or would the filtering be done on the report itself?.

From the tests i have done it seems like filters on reports are  only used to filter visualizations not to filter the original data.

Thanks

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi @Yakov,

Filtering the query (when creating dataset) means you only import the data you want to show to others. If you filter data in page/report level, you need to import all the data, you just filter the data and show expected data in visual report. But others also can see all the dataset.

Best Regards,
Angelia

View solution in original post

Hi @Yakov,

>>1. "But others also can see all the dataset." all the data set or just the complete data of the coulnms i choose?

Others will see all the data you import into Power BI model instead of filtering in page/report level.

>>2.  where does Row Level Security come in ?

You can use RLS to restrict people's permisson to view the data. You can review more detail in this article: 

Row Level Security In Power BI.

Best Regards,
Angelia

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

You could do either. If you aren't going to ever use any of the old data, then filter the data in the query. If you might use that old data for something in your report, then import all of it and just use a report or page level filter to filter to the specific year that you want.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea