Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Filtering Between 2 Tables

Greetings datanauts! 

Please see screenshot below. 

Goal: I am trying to filter the All Customers table to remove any Customer ID's that are in the Contracts Sold table. 

Problem: I am not sure if I have this set up right relationship wise (All Customers table 1 -> * Contracts Sold). ALSO, how would you approach this? I was thinking that creating a measure would filter the tables as I hoped but that didnt work. My other attempt was to put the Contracts Sold[Customer ID] column in the visual level filters to advanced filter "IS NOT" but that didnt work also. 

I am sure this is probably a easy solution for you PowerBI ninjas but I am a noob. Any help from this great community is greatly appreciated! 

FilteringBetween2Tables.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ssugar
Resolver III
Resolver III

Using the sample data you provided, I was able to create a PATH of the company ids with contracts sold, and then create a calculated table that filters the all customers table to remove anything in the PATH of the company ids with contracts sold.

DAX measure to create the path:

Customer Id With Contract Sold = CONCATENATEX('Contracts Sold', 'Contracts Sold'[Customer Id], "|")

DAX calculated table to create a table that only shows customers with no contract sold:

Customers with No Contract Sold = FILTER('All Customers', PATHCONTAINS([Customer Id With Contract Sold], 'All Customers'[Customer Id]) = FALSE())

community-sol-265075.png

PBIX file with this working: https://github.com/ssugar/PowerBICommunity/raw/master/community-sol-265075.pbix

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ssugar
Resolver III
Resolver III