Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MrWLJ71
Helper I
Helper I

Filter value totals based on slider or option selections

Firstly I must point out I am an absolute newbie when it comes to Power BI, so please be patient!

I am so new in fact I hardly know how to ask the question for what it is I am wanting to achieve, so let me try and explain.

I have a table with a lot of columns in it, but the significant columns are as follows:

Replacement Year - a range of dates for when I need to change an item

Replacement Cost - a range of values showing how much something costs to replace

Importance Rank - Range from 1 - 27 based on lots of things but 27 is the most important and 1 is the least.

My question/need is this :

Is there a way for me to set a budget amount that will then filter my data and only show the items I can afford, based on their importance rank and replacement year?

Ideally, I would like a slider (or parameter entry box?) that will allow me to choose the maximum spend I can afford compared to the total replacement budget, then have a table to display the items, ranked 27-1, and considering the year I need to replace it.

For example, let's say I look ahead at the next 5 years and I need to spend my budget based on the importance rank (27 first then descending) and also the year it needs replacing.

Is this possible?

Thank you in advance, I would be extremely grateful for any pointers or guides. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
aj1973
Community Champion
Community Champion

Here you go

aj1973_0-1628530616933.png

as you can see the totals looks accurate now

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1HFjeutnPMAhojiQ6sM7gg2DOuSnJd40i/view?usp=sharing

Don't know the private message is not functioning

Regards
Amine Jerbi

If I answered your question, please mark this thread as accepted