Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

anwilkins
Resolver II
Resolver II

Filter then sum an alpha / numeric column

I'm new to DAX and work with medical data. The Diagnosis Table / Observation Values (OBSV) column, can be alpha & numeric (as in a blood test score, blood pressure reading, behavoral health score or 12,>16, 3/4, 02/26/2021.

I need to create 3 measures that will:

1) SUM all the scores for each patient, being sure to filter the OBS Name column for GAD&SCORE and PHQ (see the pic)

2) Average those scores ( that will be another column

3) Then based on the scores, determine the risk factor of low, medium or high ( have these values, only need the synax structure)

Thanks for any insight!

anwilkins_0-1625059463892.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
anwilkins
Resolver II
Resolver II

Found a fix. Created a calculated column to pull over only the numeric values. there were still entries for a 0, and for Ne that were then changed to Null. Those values are being ignored.

#"Added Custom1" = Table.AddColumn(#"Removed Columns2", "OBSV", each if Value.Is(Value.FromText([OBSVALUE]), type number) then [#"OBSVALUE"] else null),
#"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Added Custom1",{{"OBSV", Int64.Type}})

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
anwilkins
Resolver II
Resolver II

Found a fix. Created a calculated column to pull over only the numeric values. there were still entries for a 0, and for Ne that were then changed to Null. Those values are being ignored.

#"Added Custom1" = Table.AddColumn(#"Removed Columns2", "OBSV", each if Value.Is(Value.FromText([OBSVALUE]), type number) then [#"OBSVALUE"] else null),
#"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Added Custom1",{{"OBSV", Int64.Type}})

v-xiaotang
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @anwilkins