Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jmowen
Frequent Visitor

Filter table based on start and End dates & times of the ID of that row.

Hi I am new to power bi and have gotten a bit stuck.

My problem is I want to check if a value is greater than a value between a date range

(Start and end date & time).

I have one table that holds the value and the timestamp for when the value was logged.

jmowen_0-1635195766566.png

I have a second table with the Start and end date & time I want to check between

jmowen_1-1635195766569.png

I want to be able to filter the page by the ID column and return a table that Starts at the corresponding start date & time and ends at the corresponding end date & time.

e.g. if I filter the page by “ID 1” the table will only have the timestamps from 14/10/2021 6:00:00 am to 17/10/2021 6:00:00 am

then I can use conditional formatting on the “Value (m^3/s)” to display if a value within that data set was greater than a certain value.

4 REPLIES 4
TheoC
Super User
Super User

Hi @jmowen 

Can you create a Calculated Column and use the following:

CalCol = 

VAR _DateCheck = 'tblDateTime'[Value]

RETURN

MAXX ( FILTER ( 'tblID' , 'tblID'[StartDate] <= _DateCheck && _DateCheck <= 'tblID'[EndDate] ) , 'tblID'[ID] )

Once you've established this, you can then create a relationship (1:*) from the tblID to the tblFact and use the tblID[EmployeeID] as the Slicer for filter.

TheoC_1-1635208686043.png

Output will be as per below screenshot.  My output has blanks because clearly I didn't fill out all of the TimeStamp data correctly in the sample data I put together lol 🙂

TheoC_0-1635208656981.png

Hope this helps 🙂

Theo

If I have posted a response that resolves your question, please accept it as a solution to formally close the post.