Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

joyhackett
Helper II
Helper II

Filter a visual using the selected value from an unrelated table

I am new to DAX, so I hope I explain this well... I'll add pictures.

I have 2 tables ("all_revenue" and "club_revenue") that cannot have a relationship for a multitude of reasons (mainly RLS). Both tables contain a club_key column. There is also a dim_club table that also contains club_key, joined to club_revenue.

joyhackett_3-1623723506458.png

The "all_revenue" matric is the star of our Comparison Dashboard. It is summarized to calculate each club_key's rank and percentile rank. (calcs at bottom of post)

joyhackett_0-1623725591180.png

We can only display the row values for the club_key that is selected as an all-page filter. So if the user selects club_key = 269 from dim_club, only the row where all_revenue[club_key] = 269 will be included in the visualization. 

So basically, I don't want to filter all_revenue's data, just what is included in the visualization.

Is there a way to pass the selected values of the dim_club club_key parameter that is being used as an all-page filter into the visualization filter as the all_revenue club_key value?

I was thinking of using an IF measure to use as a filter: 

club_key_match = IF(all_revenue[all_revenue.club_key] = SELECTEDVALUE(dim_club[club_key]),1,0)
but something is wrong with that because the club_key_match value for club_key 0 = 69799. I'm expecting the value to be 1 for club_key 269 (the selected value) and all other rows to be 0.

joyhackett_8-1623725139988.png

This is how it is now (without sharing the club_key selection):

joyhackett_4-1623723797224.png

This would be ideal:

joyhackett_6-1623724134517.png

If I create a relationship between dim_club and all_revenue on club_key, all of the measures break: