Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

jrosales
Regular Visitor

Filter Measure with its Aggregated Value with multiple slicers

I'm fairly new to Power BI. I have a table with

1. Student
  2. Class Year
  3. Major
  4. Financial Aid received (yes/no)
  5. First Generation Status (whether parents attended college)
  6. various outcomes like completion of Math requirement, course pass rate, GPA

I am creating a report in Power BI desktop which has a clustered column chart of student count by Class Year, A Guage showing the Course Pass Rate, A Table showing the GPA and the student Count... basically, multiple data outcomes on the same page.

I am filtering using slicers for Major, First Generation, and Financial Aid recipient (There may be some other slicers included but for now this is what they want to see). I want to apply a filter to only display data when the student count is >10. I tried creating a measure =Count(Table1[Student]) and entering it as a visual level filter. I was able to get that to work for the clustered column chart but none of the others. It also would not work if I changed the other charts to clustered columns. I could not select the drop down for the greater than...). I could not add it as a report or page level filter, either. I saw some suggestions for creating a slicer, but I don't want the end user to have control over this filter.

I saw a suggestion about creating a table using something like: 

Table2 = SUMMARIZECOLUMNS ( Table1[Major], "Enrollment", [StudentCount])

but how can I do this type of summary if I have to be able to filter on multiple variables?

We want counts >10 to protect student identity as much as we can.

2 REPLIES 2
v-yuta-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi jrosales,