Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ALIV16
Regular Visitor

Filled Map Not Recognizing States

I have created a map to help internal staff and partners understand our territories and it works great unless they want to click on the "NS" (Nova Scotia, Canada) and "BC" (British Columbia, Canada) states in the map...NS displays in Australia and BC displays Baja California. Does anyone know how to fix this?

I'm relatively new to Power BI, so this could be a simple fix, but I couldn't find anything in the forums/support documentation.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ALIV16,

Based on document, please use three-letter abbreviation location, if you use two-letter abbreviations, map visual may not correctly analysis the address.

Note: When working with countries or regions, use the three-letter abbreviation to ensure that geocoding works properly in map visualizations. Do not use two-letter abbreviations, as some countries or regions may not be properly recognized.

If you only have two-letter abbreviations, check out this external blog post for steps on how to associate your two-letter country/region abbreviations with three-letter country/region abbreviations.

How to Use Map Visualizations

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ALIV16,

Based on document, please use three-letter abbreviation location, if you use two-letter abbreviations, map visual may not correctly analysis the address.