Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

SamTrexler
Helper IV
Helper IV

Extracting data from multiple XML files

I'm following the method in http://exceleratorbi.com.au/combine-excel-workbooks-power-query-method-1/ to extract fields from multiple XML files in a directory structure, and it works great. I've created three functions to process the three types of XML files I encounter. Each works perfectly for the files of it's type - including chasing down multiple files in folders and sub-folders of a directory tree.

However, I'm having trouble putting it all together into a single query of the top level folder that will call one of the three functions to process each file. 

Problem: A simple syntax issue, probably - I'm fairly new to M language. All of the files have similar structure, and the same preliminary steps are needed for all of them (open the source, remove and rename some columns, etc.), so I created a function that performs those steps and then will call one function or another, based on data it has found.

The preliminary steps result in a single column, with a table type that contains the portion of the XML document I'm interested in. I'd like to pass that table to any of the three functions (so I don't have to open the file again, etc.), but I can't seem to get the syntax right. All of the functions take a single parameter of type table, but I'm not seeing how to pass the table in and how to use it as the source table for the first  statement in the function. Everything I've tried hasn't worked and I haven't found any examplse of how to do this.