Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Akshay_M
Helper I
Helper I

Extracting data from Quickbooks Desktop?

I am working with a client who is wanting to extract QB Desktop data to Power BI so they can have customized reports, that are updated regularly (~15 min intervals is fine). I have seen a few tools out there that allow you to connect to SSIS or allows you to connect using ODBC driver....both of these options are ideal, but a bit expensive. I found a tool that lets you extract quickbooks cloud data to excel. I am a BI developer, so I can easily develop an SSIS package that ingests excels sheets into a database, and then connect Power BI to the db. The only issue is that I would have to find a way to automatically run the QB2Excel tool every 15 minutes. Not the best solution, but the only Free one I can think of. Anyone have any ideas?

Regards,

Akshay

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-xicai
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Akshay_M ,

If you can publish data from QuickBooks desktop to QuickBooks online, then you can connect to QuickBooks Online in Power BI Desktop and Power BI Service to retrieve data, See: QuickBooks Online content pack for Power BI. Also there is already an idea about QuickBooks Desktop data source, you can vote on it: Quickbooks Desktop Version .

5.PNG6.PNG

Best Regards,

Amy

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
BobMarf
Regular Visitor

For extracting QB Desktop data to Power BI with regular updates, consider Skyvia. It offers an efficient, cost-effective alternative to SSIS or ODBC drivers. Skyvia can automate data extraction and syncing, reducing the need for manual interventions like running a QB2Excel tool every 15 minutes.

v-xicai