Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Extract dates(start of the month) with M-Query

Hello guys, 

I'm new to M-Query. I have been trying to figure out to extract dates from a date using a custom column on PowerBI.

Below is a picture with my problem. 

Thanks alot 

M-query p.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Stachu
Community Champion
Community Champion

in Query editor go to Advanced view

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45Wck/NV9JRMjIwtNAzMAQiOMdYzxjEMVOKjQUA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [classes = _t, start_date = _t, end_date = _t, total = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"classes", type text}, {"start_date", type date}, {"end_date", type date}, {"total", Int64.Type}}),
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type", "dates", each List.Distinct(List.Transform(List.Dates([start_date], Duration.Days([end_date]-[start_date]), #duration(1,0,0,0)), each Date.StartOfMonth(_)))),
    #"Added Custom1" = Table.AddColumn(#"Added Custom", "new total", each [total]/List.Count([dates])),
    #"Expanded dates" = Table.ExpandListColumn(#"Added Custom1", "dates")
in
    #"Expanded dates"

copy the blue syntax while also replacing the red reference to the one that will be there in your query
you will also have to remove the two bottom rows from your original query

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!
Thank you for the kudos 🙂

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Stachu
Community Champion
Community Champion

add this as a custom column, then expand to rows

{[start_date],Date.StartOfMonth([end_date])}

it will produce the second layout

Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks,