Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

mmatusche
Regular Visitor

Expression Error in the Tutorial

Hello Everyone,

im quite new to Power BI thats why I tried learning it with following this Tutorial which is the German Version of this Tutorial.

I followed all the steps, which i found easy, until it came to point where i want so save the query changes. I tried it several times to prevent any missclicks but every time i get the same error message (unfortunately in german)

It says: Expression.Error A value type "list" cannot be converted to the type "text"

I have no idea what i am doing wrong. I just followed the Tutorial step by step. Is there advice for me? Or can anyone tell me the original english error message so i can google that? I had no succes with googling my translation or the german one.

Thank you very much

Manu

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

A little late, due to other business, but still.

First of all: I think you did nothing wrong.

I noticed that the contents from the web page keep changing: in the step "Quelle" you can see in ClassName that the table is sortable. may be that explains it, but I don't know any specifics about that.

In the tutorial it is stated that the top 2 rows should be removed.

Well, sometimes those rows are just not there and there is nothing to remove. I guess this was the case when you created your queries. However, if you refresh a few times, you may notice that it keeps changing, so it can be that everything runs fine in the Query Editor, but when loading the queries, the web page is refreshed with different data (sort) and the query crashes.

The solution would fit in some advanced tutoral: dynamically remove top rows.

In the 3rd line of the code below you see Table.Skip with a condition as the second argument.