Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

bowater
Regular Visitor

Excel DAX expressions with errors in Power BI

I am VERY VERY NEW to Power BI. I am working on a churn analysis and have built a dashboard using excel/powerpivot/powerquery that funtions very nicely. I would like to be able to share this easily without connections updated every time by recipient and thought I would try and build it in Power BI. All the expressions are written in DAX expressions and function perfectly in Excel.

I have imported data (Excel file) and built out a date table as well as two other query tables. The relationships are linked properly. I have also added all the measures identical to what I built in PowerPivot. Some of the measures are calculations based on date but the visuals throw out this error:
MdxScript(Model) (1, 88) Calculation error in measure 'FACT TABLE'[Cancelled]: An invalid numeric representation of a date value was encountered.

Here is the formula I am using that works correctly in Excel:

Cancelled = CALCULATE(FACT TABLE[TotalToDate],DATESBETWEEN(FACT TABLE[Churn Date], FIRSTDATE('Dates'[Date]),LASTDATE('Dates'[Date])))

TotalToDate = CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT(FACT TABLE[id]),FILTER(ALL('Dates'[Date]),'Dates'[Date]<=MAX('Dates'[Date])))

What am I missing here?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thanks for the input!! It was the Date table that was causing the issue not the fact table. I deleted the table and recreated using advanced editor and a dynamic date table with the following and it worked like a charm:

let
Source = List.Dates,
#"Invoked FunctionSource" = Source(#date(2015, 1, 1), Duration.Days(DateTime.Date(DateTime.FixedLocalNow()) - #date(2015,1,1)), #duration(1, 0, 0, 0)),