Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Rookarumba
Helper III
Helper III

Excel 2016 : Get and Transform - Add column that include blanks

Hi Guys/Ladies,

I'm new to Excel Get & Transform but not new to Excel.

Anyway, I needed to create a Unique Id with the available information on my sheet and I used " & " to join all the text.
Since I'm having about 500k row of data thus that get a bit sluggish which prompt me to use Get & Transform.

Here the issue, with Get & Transform I used "& " to join various column together but  If any of my cells is blank, it returns a null on the new column but I still need the info even if is blank (like in Column F)

Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 9.51.18 AM.png
Is there any ways to resolve this in Get & Transform?

Thanks,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Maybe I'm overcomplicating the issue... Smiley Frustrated

Proably the easiest solution is to replace null values with blanks (select the column, choose "Replace Values" on the Transform" tab, enter "null" in "Value To Find" and leave "Replace With" empty).

Now you can just concatenate the values with & (using Text.From for non-text columns).

Just in case someone is interested: this video illustrates how to implement the function solution from my previous post.

Specializing in Power Query Formula Language (M)

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
MarcelBeug
Community Champion
Community Champion

If you want to combine text values from the first 5 columns, you can add a column with the following formula:

= Text.Combine(List.FirstN(Record.FieldValues(_),5))

The same, a little bit more complicated if you have non text values: 

= Text.Combine(List.Transform(List.FirstN(Record.FieldValues(_),5),each Text.From(_)))

Thanks Marcel,