Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MR2001
Helper II
Helper II

Error trying to add a custom column

I am getting the following error when trying to add a custom column: "The name FORMAT wasn't recognized"

custom_column.jpgPlease advise.

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
kcantor
Community Champion
Community Champion

@MR2001

Instead of working in the query editor, have you tried adding a calculated column within the data model? I just used Format in that sense in the Data Model by adding the calculated column there as opposed to writing an "M" string in Query Editor. I used a simple Year-Week = [Year]&"-"&FORMAT([WeekNumber],"00") just to make sure FORMAT worked as desired in the datamodel.

Hope this helps.

As an added hint:

I am new to M but I can tell you that all caps throws an error. Only capitilize the F in Format but I don't think Format works anyway.

Not really helpful for this but the all caps thing might come in handy at some point in the future.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
arify
Employee
Employee

Hi @MR2001, if you can't find what you need in there, can you describe what you want to do so we may be able to help?

Thanks Arify, problem is resolved now, I was just trying to format a DateTime field to include only Date information.

kcantor
Community Champion
Community Champion

@MR2001

Instead of working in the query editor, have you tried adding a calculated column within the data model? I just used Format in that sense in the Data Model by adding the calculated column there as opposed to writing an "M" string in Query Editor. I used a simple Year-Week = [Year]&"-"&FORMAT([WeekNumber],"00") just to make sure FORMAT worked as desired in the datamodel.

Hope this helps.