cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Error "Couldn't load the data for this visual Login failed for user" SQL connection

Hello community,

First off I am new to SQL and Power BI, so sorry in advance I am not too familiar.

I have opened a ,pbix file and I cannot see some of the visuals. So I connected to SQL Server with a given Server and Database provided by another employee. Data Connectivity mode is DirectQuery. I have my company's VPN connection on. It allowed me to load queries but after it was done loading, it gave me an error saying "Couldn't load the data for this visual Login failed for user".. The exception was raised by the IDbConnection Interface.

Annotation 2020-06-08 084934.png

I am not sure if this is enough information to receive help. What to do?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Super User IV
Super User IV

Re: Error "Couldn't load the data for this visual Login failed for user" SQL connection

@jellomonkey7 well that explains the issue, do you have access to that SharePoint? You should be using the credentials that can get you access to that SharePoint location. Now you know where the problem is and also the solution.

I would  Kudos if my solution helped. 👉 If you can spend time posting the question, you can also make efforts to give Kudos whoever helped to solve your problem. It is a token of appreciation!

Visit us at https://perytus.com, your one-stop shop for Power BI related projects/training/consultancy.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution.

Proud to be a Super User! Appreciate your Kudos 🙂
Feel free to email me with any of your BI needs.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Super User IV
Super User IV

Re: Error "Couldn't load the data for this visual Login failed for user" SQL connection