Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dsabsi
Advocate I
Advocate I

Error: The function SUM can not work with values of type String

Hi all, 

I'm new to Power BI and I'm trying to visualize my IF-formula but I'm getting this error: 

The function SUM cannot work with values of type String. 

I tried to remove the sum from my formula but then it won't get the correct tab. 

I tried to add the relationship in the tab' Manage relationships'  but that doesn't work because it then states the following error:

You can't create a direct active relationship between xxx and xxx because that would introduce ambiguity between tables xxx and xx. To make this relationship active, deactivate or delete one of these relationship between xx and xxx first.  

My formula is (i've put the tables as xxx since it's confidential information):  

If(sum( xxx)="";"Not an option"; if(sum(xxx)="";"Plausible option 2";"No way""))

I hope you guys can help me out, I'm sorry that I can't give you the exact table names. 

Cheers

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi guys, 

I found the solution!

I created a new measure, while it should be new column with the same If-formula and now it works =D I'm really happy!!

I do want to emphasize my gratitude for your swift replies, I'm really blown away how many people are willing to help :). 

Many thanks and have a great day!

Cheers

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-ljerr-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @dsabsi,

Could you post some sample data(no need to post the real data, just some letters or random numbers like below) and your expected result? So that we can better assist on this issue. Smiley Happy

Table1

column1 column2
a 1
b 2
c 3

Expect Result: Total of 'column2': 6

Regards

Hi guys, 

I found the solution!