Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

MSemenoff

Eliminating a blank from a table visualization

I'm new to DAX. I'm creating a measure using two two tables. The "one to many" relationship between the tables stems from columns of unique IDs. However the "one" side column is a subset of the "many" side column. When I make a table visualization, I'm getting a blank in the ID column and a total for all the IDs from the "many" side column not included in the "one" side column.

It looks like this:

ID          Amt. 1      Amt.2

blank     $$$$$$            

1           $$$$$$    $$$$$$

2           $$$$$$    $$$$$$

and so on.

The Amt.1 measures are coming from the "many" side, the Amt.2 measures from the "one" side.

How can I eliminate that "blank"? What DAX code should I use? Thanks for any sufggestions.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
greggyb
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

You can filter the table using visual-, page-, or report-level filters to exclude blanks from the one side.

Or you can rewrite your [Amt1] measure to do the same:

Amt1 =
CALCULATE(
    SUM( '<many side table>'[Amount] )
    ,NOT( ISBLANK( '<one side table>'[ID] ) )
)

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
greggyb
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

You can filter the table using visual-, page-, or report-level filters to exclude blanks from the one side.

Or you can rewrite your [Amt1] measure to do the same:

Amt1 =
CALCULATE(
    SUM( '<many side table>'[Amount] )
    ,NOT( ISBLANK( '<one side table>'[ID] ) )
)
Anonymous
Not applicable

What if you want to include the blank in the total calculation but not as a row in the visualisation?