Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The ultimate Microsoft Fabric, Power BI, Azure AI & SQL learning event! Join us in Las Vegas from March 26-28, 2024. Use code MSCUST for a $100 discount. Register Now

DannyAMC
Regular Visitor

Editing data source credentials hangs

I have an on-premise gateway in personal mode on my computer. I have created a report and published it to the web. When I try and do a refresh of the dataset in the web, it tells me I have to edit the credentials for the data source.  Source file is an excel document stored in One Drive. On the edit credentials screen, I see:

path

Authentication method - Only option is WindowsWithoutImpersonation

Privacy level setting for this data source - private

When I click sign in, I get the little circle that never seems to end attempting to sign in.

Gateway is current as I am brand new to PowerBi

I made sure the privacy setting on the dataset was set to private

Could it be because I have two factor authentication enabled for my O365 account?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@DannyAMC ,

Click "Clear permission" and try again.

Community Support Team _ Jimmy Tao

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
IV97
Frequent Visitor

I had the same problem and solved it by changing the path of my data source (Excel sheet in OneDrive) using this method: https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/connect-data/desktop-use-onedrive-business-links

Then I cleared the permissions, and published again the report (replacing the old one in the Power BI web app). 

After that I went back to the Dataset settings and clicked on Edit Credentials and signed in using O2Auth and Organizational.

v-yuta-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@DannyAMC ,